Tue, 12 Aug 2008 Phishing scam targets MobileMe users
MobileMe users now hit by phishing scam
An email purporting to be from Apple alerting users to a billing problem is, in fact, a phishing scam that's targeting users of Apple's online service, Macworld has learned.
The email, forwarded to Macworld by a reader, looks like an official communication from Apple regarding MobileMe, the company's subscription service. The email states: "We were unable to process your most recent payment. Did you recently change your bank, phone number or credit card?" Users are then invited to click on a link to enter that information- but that link opens a web page in your browser that does not appear to be affiliated with Apple or MobileMe (the other links in the email do point to pages on Apple's official site).
Question of the day!
Do you use Adobe Photoshop with a Wacom tablet?
% of Macworld readers agree with you
How does a Wacom tablet improve the Photoshop experience?
Follow the conversation at @TabletChat
paintings & illustrations, mostly, which i upload to flickr.RT @fragmentedm
I draw manga/anime characters. I also do graphic design and photography.RT @spialelo
Yes. I usually put them up on my #deviantart account for feedback on how to improve.RT @spialelo
A check of the link information reveals that it is registered to a personal Gmail account originating in Bacau, Romania. It is unknown at this time if this is the person who sent the email, or if their identity had been "spoofed" by the phisher.
In phishing scams, crooks send a phony, official-looking email that tries to entice recipients into revealing private information such as passwords, social security numbers, or credit card and banking account data.
This phishing email message tries to get personal information from Apple's MobileMe users.This isn't the first instance where a phisher has tried using an Apple-run service to trick users. In May, iTunes Store users began receiving email that appeared to be from Apple's iTunes Store, suggesting that they must correct an apparent credit card problem.
The phony page users were directed to asked for a credit card number and other personal information that, once revealed, could be easily exploited by malicious users looking to commit identity theft.
For more on phishing and how to avoid such scams, see Rob Griffiths' recent story on Web browser security.
Email A Friend
Email this article to a friend or colleague:
PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the recipient know who sent the story, and in case of transmission error. Both your name and the recipient's name and address will not be used for any other purpose.
Permalink This Article
This articles permalink is:
http://www.macworld.co.uk/digitallifestyle/news/index.cfm?RSS&NewsID=22374
<<prev article | back to news index | next article>>
Latest News
- Apple intros Aperture 3, adds over 200 new features
- Walt Disney World iPhone update offers 300 pages, 500 photos
- VIP iPhone app drops from millionaire priced £279.99 to under a tenner
- Play.com: Google Nexus One now available for pre-order
- Amazon's Kindle gets ready to battle Apple's iPad
- Apple Store is down, new Macs imminent?
- Canon intros EOS 550D 18-megapixel DSLR camera
- WSJ: Apple could slash iPad prices if sales disappoint
- Apple offers 'find out how' tutorials as podcasts
- Adobe says sorry for 16-month-old Flash bug
- Getty launches subscription stock image service, Thinkstock
- RouteBuddy intros RouteBuddy Atlas 1.3 for iPhone, iPod touch

It's easy and free to get the latest news headlines, reviews and opinions straight to your email inbox. Sign up NOW to make sure you receive the latest Mac news, reviews and tutorials on your favourite topics.






Comments received
ACutting said on Tue, 12 Aug 2008
Yes, I got one of these; ironically just a couple of weeks after my old credit card had expired, making it even more convincing...
The linked page looked convincing - but I always try to check the real direction of the hyperlink, and I was worried.
I went and updated my account - but only from within MobileMe/Mac OneTouch, and not the spoofed link
Gmail user said on Tue, 12 Aug 2008
Mac world should fwd this to the google gmail security team to pull the gmail account
Disclaimer
Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Macworld. Macworld accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content.
Click here to read the house rules.
Click here for the latest reader comments