How to live in the past with Timehop

Find out what you were up to one year ago today with Timehop

By |

  • Timehopmain Intro
  • Timehop1 Step 1: Let's time travel
  • Timehop2 Step 2: Add local photos
  • Timehop3 Step 3: One year later...
  • Timehop4 Step 4: Even further back
  • Timehop5 Step 5: Sharking again
  • Timehop6 Step 6: Add/Remove services
  • More stories
Next Prev

Intro

These days, people live so much of their lives online, cross-posting between Facebook and Twitter, Instagram and Flickr, that it’s a wonder anyone can keep up with everything.

In addition, all that electronic business has another interesting side-effect, making everything not just instant, but also momentary: as if a post – whether it be a photo, a link or a comment – only exists until it’s pushed off the screen by someone else’s noise and chatter. The free Timehop app gives iOS users a chance to remind themselves of what they were up to in the dim and distant past by grabbing their entries from popular social networking sites (along with photos from the camera roll) and displaying them once a day.

Previous posts are shared with other Timehop users, while local photos are not. So it’s a good way to reminisce, while keeping private moments to yourself. Here’s how it works. 

Vital Info

Device: iPhone/iPad

Difficulty: Beginner

Time required: 5 minutes

What you need:

TImehop

iOS 5.0 or later

Next »

Next Prev Timehopmain

These days, people live so much of their lives online, cross-posting between Facebook and Twitter, Instagram and Flickr, that it’s a wonder anyone can keep up with everything.

In addition, all that electronic business has another interesting side-effect, making everything not just instant, but also momentary: as if a post – whether it be a photo, a link or a comment – only exists until it’s pushed off the screen by someone else’s noise and chatter. The free Timehop app gives iOS users a chance to remind themselves of what they were up to in the dim and distant past by grabbing their entries from popular social networking sites (along with photos from the camera roll) and displaying them once a day.

Previous posts are shared with other Timehop users, while local photos are not. So it’s a good way to reminisce, while keeping private moments to yourself. Here’s how it works. 

Vital Info

Device: iPhone/iPad

Difficulty: Beginner

Time required: 5 minutes

What you need:

TImehop

iOS 5.0 or later

 

Step 2 of 7: Step 1: Let's time travel

Start by downloading the app and installing it. Tap the icon to launch the app and then tap the Log In or Sign Up button at the foot of the screen. Necessarily, Timehop needs access to loads of social media data, so tap OK to continue. Next, choose which services Timehop can scan for information and tap Continue again. 

 

Step 3 of 7: Step 2: Add local photos

Timehop can tell if any of your friends are also using the app and allow you to see the stories they share at the same time as they can see yours. Tap ‘Got It’ to move on. Next, there’s the option to include all the photos in the camera roll – note that these aren’t shared or uploaded – tap Authorize and then OK. 

 

Step 4 of 7: Step 3: One year later...

Nearly there. At the next screen, tap ‘Got It’ and OK to confirm you’re happy to receive daily notifications from Timehop. Choose whether to share your new-found Timehop love with Facebook and Twitter or skip that step and then let the app do its stuff. After a moment, the first entry appears.

 

Step 5 of 7: Step 4: Even further back

Timehop doesn’t stop at one year, either. Scrolling through the list of entries we found photos from two years ago. All links are live (assuming the source still exists) so it’s easy to revisit something you may have forgotten about. Here for example, is a gig review of the Alter Eagles, an Eagles tribute band. 

 

Step 6 of 7: Step 5: Sharking again

There are annotations under each entry which tell you where it was first published (‘fb’ for Facebook and ‘tw’ for Twitter), together with an email button which opens the default mail app with the diary entry already attached, along with a Share button so you can post the entry again on Facebook or Twitter. 

 

Step 7 of 7: Step 6: Add/Remove services

If you change your mind and decide you’d rather not revisit your ancient tweets, then tap the icon to the right of the Timehop logo and at the next screen, tap the Settings cog. From here, it’s easy to add or remove services, change how often Timehop sends you updates (the default is daily) or edit your profile.  

Elsewhere on IDG sites
Galaxy Note 8 vs iPhone X

Galaxy Note 8 vs iPhone X

This is what design agencies will look like in 2032

This is what design agencies will look like in 2032

How to update iOS on iPhone or iPad

How to update iOS on iPhone or iPad

WhatsApp : comment lire vos messages sans que l’expéditeur le sache

WhatsApp : comment lire vos messages sans que l’expéditeur le sache