How do I delete all my photos from my iPhone?

Having the ability to quickly trim down your photos is always useful, be it for the countless number of selfies you've taken or simply want to free up space on your iPhone due to images you no longer want on your iOS device.

The process might seem simple to some, but there might be a few tips and tricks which you might have overlooked, read on to find out. Read next: iPhone related news, reviews and how to guides.

Updated 20 July with iCloud inclusion.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Deleting individual photos and delete photos from iCloud

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Individual Photo

Before going into the batch process of deleting photos, you might be interested to delete an individual photo. To do this, launch the Photos application, tap on the photo you wish to delete and click the trash icon. This will then prompt you to delete the photo before removing it from your device.

As a note, all images which are deleted are then temporarily moved to the Recently Deleted album, which stores your images for 30 days. This was introduced by Apple back with the launch of iOS 8 to safeguard people accidentally deleting their photos.

If you have iCloud Photo Library enabled, then you can delete photos by navigating to the Photos app > Moments and select the photos you want to delete. Read next: iOS 9 features & update advice.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Deleting multiple photos in Camera Roll

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Camera Roll

There are various ways to delete multiple photos from your iPhone. Our first method involves deleting images within your Camera Roll and selecting a number of photos to delete.

To perform this, open your Camera Roll and tap the Select option at the top-right hand side of your screen. You'll now be in control of selecting photos you wish to share or delete.

To make your life a little easier you'll be able to tap and drag your finger on the screen which allows you to quickly select which photos you wish to select. This nifty little feature is often overlooked by most, but can be handy when you want to delete a row of photos quickly.

Once you've decided which photos you want to delete, simply hit the trach icon and confirm the deletion of those photos.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Deleting multiple photos by Collections

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Collections

If you've got a set of different collections listed within your Photos app, you can quickly delete photos by navigating to a certain date and batch deleting the photos which are listed.

To do this, go into your Photos app, click on the Photos tab at the bottom left-hand side and then click on one of the collections you wish to delete. From here, you'll be able to select photos taken by a set date and batch delete them with a touch of the trash icon.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Deleting Albums and Moments

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Albums

If you've previously created various albums, or have various automatically created Moments on your iPhone, then you'll be able to also delete entire photo collections with ease. Do note that this method will not delete your photos, as they will then be transferred to your Camera Roll and Recently Deleted folder.

To perform this deletion, click on the Albums/Moments icon located at the bottom right-hand side of the Photos app and then tap on Edit at the top right-hand corner.

You should now see small red minus signs listed by your albums. Note that all albums don't have this option show-up, due to them being locked by Apple.

Simply click on the red sign on the left-hand side of the album you wish to delete and a Delete box will turn up on the right-hand side of the album. You'll then be prompted to delete the entire album.

Again, if you have iCloud enabled, deleting photos from Moments will place the photos in your Recently Deleted album, where they will remain in there for 30 days before being permanently removed.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Clearing your Recently Deleted album on your iPhone

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Recently Deleted

As stated earlier, Apple stores your images for 30 days within the Recently Deleted album on your phone to safeguard accidental dismissals. If you're sure about deleting the photos within this album, simply go into the Albums tab and click on the Recently Deleted album.

Once you're within the album tap on Select at the top right-hand side and you'll be presented with a Delete All and Recover All option at the bottom of your screen.

Recover All will restore all the photos to their original location, whilst Delete All will remove them permanently from your device. 

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Deleting from your Mac using Image Capture

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Image Capture Selecting

All Macs have a hidden gem for deleting photos at a breeze; the program in question is Image Capture. This simple and yet useful program on Mac is unbelievably quick in deleting images permanently from your iPhone.

Open Image Capture and ensure your Mac is Trusted from your iPhone. As you plug in your iPhone you'll see your photos load almost instantly within Image Capture. From here simply hit Command + A on your keyboard or select them with your mouse and then click the small red 'No Entry' sign at the bottom of the Image Capture program. You'll be then prompted to confirm the deletion.

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Image Capture Delete

Once you hit Delete, the photos will within seconds delete off your iPhone. This is therefore the fastest and best way to delete photos off your iPhone if you have access to a Mac.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Deleting from your Mac using iPhoto

How to delete all photos from iPhone - iPhoto

Every Mac should have iPhoto installed by default and through it; you can very quickly delete all the photos from your iOS device - this method isn't as fast as Image Capture, due to having to import them to your Mac first, but does give you a fail-safe option of not accidentally deleting a photo.

Open iPhoto and have your iPhone connected. You'll have to 'Trust' your Mac computer on your iPhone before continuing.

Once connected you'll be able to see all your photos on your iOS device. At the top right-hand corner you'll see an Import button which you'll need to click in order to delete all the photos from your iPhone.

How to delete all photos from iPhone - iPhoto Delete

After hitting the import button and letting it complete (it might take some time if you've got a large collection of photos), you'll be prompted by iPhoto to Delete or Keep the photos on your iPhone. If you click on Delete X Items, the photos will be removed from your iPhone and won't even appear in your Recently Deleted album on your iOS device.

Once in iPhoto, you can view them, drag and drop them to another location on your Mac or delete them from iPhoto, by simply tapping Command + A to select all photos and then right clicking on any image to bring up a small dropdown menu which will have the option to send the photos to the Trash.

How to delete all photos from iPhone - iPhoto Trash

Once in Trash you can open the Trash on the left-hand column and view your binned photos. You can one-click Empty Trash and this will result in deleting all the photos from your Mac too. Read next: Can I still use iPhoto after Apple launches Photos for Mac.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Deleting from your Windows PC

How to delete all photos from iPhone - Windows PC

If you're on a Windows PC, the process is very straight forward. Plug in your iPhone to your PC and ensure you Trust/Allow the PC to access your iPhone.

Once connected navigate to your iPhone's DCIM photo folder within Windows Explorer and simply select your photos you wish to delete or CTRL+A to select all and delete them through right clicking or SHIFT+DEL to permanently delete them off your iPhone.

How to delete all photos from iPhone: Other methods of deletion

There are various other ways to delete photos, such as using Photos or even third-party software on your Mac or PC. There are a whole host of different options, but we found the options listed above the fastest and easiest way of deletion possible for most users. Read next: Photos for Mac review.

Which method do you use? Let us know in this user poll or in the comments!