Group messages can be a great way to organise a trip with your friends, spring a surprise party, or debate the various harrowing outcomes of upcoming elections. But they can also be a source of annoyance if your iPhone keeps lighting up with notifications for conversations in which you no longer have any interest.

Help is at hand, though, as it's actually very easy to extract yourself from the nattering. Read on and we'll show you how to leave a group message chat on iPhone.

For more insight into the various features offered by Messages, check out our How to use Messages on the iPhone guide.

Make sure the group is on Messages

We know this may sound like a stupid thing to say, but with so many group messaging apps now in frequent use - such as WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Google Hangouts, and many more - it's a good idea to double-check that the conversation you want to leave is actually on Messages and none of the other services before you begin.

This will avoid any confusion over why the steps listed below don't seem to work on your iPhone.

Leaving a group message

First you'll need to open up the Messages app and then tap on the conversation that you wish to exit.

how to leave group message on iphone

In the top righthand corner you should see a circle with an i inside. This is the Information icon. Tap this and a range of options should appear.

Scroll down to the bottom of the list and you'll discover the setting to Leave this Conversation, written in red. Tap this and you'll be free from the incessant wittering of your friends.

how to leave a group message on iphone

If you don't see the Leave this Conversation option this could be because your group has fewer than four members. Sadly this means you can't depart, but that doesn't mean you're stuck with constant notifications, as we'll discuss next.

Muting notifications

If you're not able to leave the conversation (or maybe you don't want people to know that you've had enough), you can always mute the notifications instead.

This can be a temporary measure, say when your phone is low on battery, or you want to avoid the gossip of who died this week on Game of Thrones, and can easily be switched off again at any time.

To find the setting just repeat the steps above and instead of tapping Leave the Conversation look for the Do Not Disturb option that sits just above it. Tap this to enable the feature and once more your life will be filled with the sweet bliss of serenity.