My iPhone keeps asking me to type in the password for the wrong Apple ID. Can I make it forget that ID and just remember mine?

Your Apple ID is the email address (often ending in iCloud.com, although not necessarily) you use to log into the App Store and other Apple services. If everything works the way it should, you enter your Apple ID early on (most likely during initial setup) and iOS then remembers it when you come to download an app or similar - although you'll probably still need to re-enter the password for security reasons.

If iOS is getting confused and asking for the password for a different Apple ID, something has gone wrong... or it may have gone right, if you inherited an iPhone with somebody else's account on it. Either way, you'll want to get rid of that unwanted Apple ID and use your own instead. In this tutorial we show how to achieve this. Read next: How to unlock a disabled Apple ID

Wrong Apple ID popping up in the App Store

The simplest instance of this problem is when somebody else borrows your iPhone or iPad and enters their own Apple ID to install an app. Next time you go into the App Store, it will understandably expect that same account to be used again. Read next: How to change Apple ID payment information

How to remove an Apple ID from your iPhone

Removing the borrower's Apple ID from the App Store and returning to your own instead is easy:

  1. Open App Store.
  2. Tap Featured.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom.
  4. Tap the Apple ID at the bottom left and tap Sign Out.
  5. Tap Sign In.
  6. Enter your Apple ID and Password and tap OK.

You should now have your Apple ID in the App Store. When you download or update apps it will ask you for your password.

Note that the app installed by the other person remains on your device. This can cause complications, because iOS will remember that it is a purchase made under another account; when an update becomes available for that app, you may be asked to enter your friend's password in order to download it.

You can choose to manage without updates, obtain the password, or delete the app. Read next: How to remove card from iTunes & App Store

Remove Apple ID from iCloud or Find My Friends

Removing the rogue Apple ID from iCloud or Find My Friends is trickier. In these instances, Apple requests the password from you before removing the account. This is a security measure to prevent stolen phones from being sold on.

How to remove an Apple ID from your iPhone: iCloud and Find My Friends

If you know the person, then you'll need to get their password from them (or get them to enter it for you). If you don't have their password (because you bought the phone second-hand, we hope, and not because you pinched it) then you should get in touch with the person as soon as possible, or return the iPhone for a refund.

How to remove Apple ID from iPhone or iPad: Sign out of iCloud

Once you have the password, follow these steps to remove the Apple ID account from iCloud and Find My Friends:

  1. Open the Settings app. Tap the top entry, where it shows your name and picture. (In older versions of iOS you should tap iCloud.)
  2. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. If prompted, tap Delete from My iPhone.
  3. Enter the password of the person's Apple ID.
  4. Select whether you want to keep copies of your iCloud data for Calendars, Contacts, Reminders and Safari.
  5. Tap Sign Out or Turn Off, as applicable.

When signed out you can tap Sign In and enter your Apple ID and password to start using the device.

What if I don't know the password?

Unfortunately, we don't know of a way to remove an Apple ID from an Apple device if you do not know the password. This is a security measure put in place by Apple to help combat the theft of iPhones.

It's important when buying a second-hand iPhone to ensure that the Apple ID has been removed. You can do this by tapping Settings > iCloud and making sure that nobody's name is listed. Read next: How to unlock an iPhone