Is your iPhone constantly asking you to update? If you don't want to update to the latest version of iOS, and want to stop iOS trying to force you into an update, you've come to the right place. Read on to find out how to stop your iPhone trying to update. 

Apple likes to make sure you're on the latest version of iOS (its operating system for iPhone and iPad). For many people, this is a good thing. But not everybody wants to update to the latest version of iOS.

This article is for those frustrated souls who just wish their iPhone or iPad, would stop throwing up an alert saying "Software Update" with the only options being "Install Tonight" or "Remind Me Later."

See also:

How to hack an iPad or iPhone passcode
How to jailbreak an iPhone or iPad in iOS 9 and iOS 8
iOS 10 release date and feature rumours
How to Jailbreak the Apple TV

How to stop iOS nagging you to update to the latest version: why does Apple do this?

How to stop iOS nagging you to update to the latest version

The bad news is there's no easy way to stop iOS from repeatedly throwing this alert at you. Apple wants as many people as possible on the latest version of iOS for many reasons: improved performance, security fixes and to block hacks like jailbreaking.

To encourage people to get on the latest version of iOS, Apple implemented a feature called Automatic Downloads. This download updates in the background, and once it is downloaded, you are pushed to install it. Apple typically installs the software update at night when the iPhone, or iPad, is plugged in and charging.

The reason you are getting these alerts is because Automatic Updates has downloaded the latest update to iOS, and the update is currently sitting on your iPhone (or iPad) and waiting to be activated.

How to turn off Automatic Updates

Turn off Automatic Updates in iOS

Automatic Updates are enabled by default, so you'll need to turn them off. This won't help with the current update, but it will stop you from getting these messages in future. So the first thing you should do is dive into settings and turn Automatic Updates off:

  1. Tap Settings.
  2. Tap iTunes & App Stores.
  3. Set Updates underneath "Automatic Downloads" to Off.

This will prevent iOS from downloading updates in future, although you'll still need to deal with the update you've downloaded.

How to delete the downloaded update

How to delete a downloaded iOS update

Now it's time to get rid of the update on your iPhone or iPad. This will prevent iOS from throwing up the update alert at you every day:

  1. Tap Settings.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Tap Storage & iCloud Usage.
  4. Tap the first Manage Storage option (below "Storage" not "iCloud").
  5. Locate the iOS update. It should be iOS followed by numbers, i.e., "iOS 9.3.2."
  6. Tap Delete Update.
  7. Tap Delete Update in the Delete Update alert window.

Turning off Automatic Updates and deleting the latest update from your Storage will prevent you from getting the alert windows in the future. Some users have reported that iOS re-downloads the update when the iPhone is connected to Wi-Fi

If the "Install Now" and "Remind Later" alert re-appears, check in your Storage & iCloud Usage and delete the update again.

You can turn off Wi-Fi to never see the update again, but we think this is slightly extreme.

You'll still get alerts from the App Store when Apple releases a new version. But these only come along every few months; not daily.

How block Apple updates from your Wi-Fi router

One last option, noted by our friends over on OSXDaily, is to block the Apple Software Update Domains on your router. This is a nuclear option for those who never want to see another update again.

The process for blocking the Apple Software Update Domains varies depending on the router. Typically you'll have to open your router's web-based interface, find a service called "Domain Blocking" or "Domain Block" and enter these two domains:

  • apple.com
  • apple.com

Each router is different. Here are the instructions for a Virgin Broadband router.

  1. Open the Safari web browser and enter the MAC address from the admin site. Ours is http://192.168.0.1. You'll often find this listed on the back of the router.
  2. Enter the password for the router. Again, you'll often find the default password on the back of your modem/router.
  3. Click Advanced Settings
  4. Click Domain Blocking (underneath Parental Controls)
  5. Add appldnld.apple.com into Domain To Block and click Add Domain.
  6. Add mesu.apple.com and click Add Domain
  7. Click Apply and Yes.

You'll no longer be able to download updates. Note that this prevents software update from working completely. When you click Software Update on your iPad or iPhone, you'll see "Unable to Check For Update."

It's a bit extreme way to prevent software updates, but some users may be determined to keep the latest version. We think it's wiser to tap Update Later and accept the update to the latest version of the software.