How do I call someone who has blocked my number on their iPhone? It's an emergency!

It's possible to call someone even if they've blocked your number on their iPhone - but please respect their privacy (this is for emergencies only) and don't get yourself in trouble with the law. Here's how to hide your caller ID, bypass a call block and place a call to someone who blocked you on their iPhone.

How to call someone who has blocked your number on their iPhone: What is iOS call blocking?

iOS 7, the 2013 update to Apple's operating system software for iPhone and iPad, brought in a useful new feature: the ability to easily block phone numbers from nuisance callers. We explain how to do this in our article How to block a phone number on any iPhone. (For some newer iOS tips, see 21 brilliant iOS 10 tips.)

But if you're the one who's been blocked (to find out, read our article How to tell if someone has blocked your number on their iPhone), is there any way to override the block and push your call through in an emergency? If you fell out badly with your brother last year, for instance, but now need to pass on urgent news about a gravely ill family member. Or if you want to return the engagement ring to your ex-fiancé but he was so upset he blocked your number.

In fact it's incredibly easy - worryingly so, from the point of view of someone who's had to cope with persistently harassing calls - to bypass iOS's number-blocking feature. But before we explain how it works, a quick warning.

How to call someone who has blocked your number on their iPhone: Is it legal to bypass a call block?

The method we explain simply involves hiding your caller ID, which is a simple feature available to anyone. This is itself is completely legal. However, it's entirely possible that use of this method to call someone after they have made it clear they don't wish to be contacted will get you into legal hot water somewhere down the line. That's before we even get to the ethical side of thigns.

Simply put, we don't endorse the use of this method in any but the most extreme of emergencies. Please respect people's privacy, and realise that if you carry on ringing someone after they have made it clear that they don't want you to, and have even blocked your number, you're heading in the direction of a restraining order. Macworld takes no responsibility for the legal consequences of harassing behaviour.

Read next: Complete guide: How to update iOS on iPhone or iPad

How to call someone who has blocked your number on their iPhone: Hide your caller ID

Before we start, be warned that while this method gets you past the block itself, it's no guarantee that they will actually pick up. Your number won't appear, but the iPhone will say that the caller ID has been hidden. This looks suspicious to the best of us, but to someone who recently blocked a nuisance caller it's a huge red flag.

You might be better off borrowing the phone of someone you both trust (explaining the emergency situation we talked about earlier should convince them) and calling from that - then a trusted name will appear on screen, instead of either one they don't recognise or a blocked ID message.

With those caveats out of the way, here's how to call someone who has blocked you on their iPhone.

How to call someone who has blocked your number on their iPhone: Hide Caller ID

You need to disguise your caller ID, which will prevent the receiving iPhone from knowing which number is calling. Open the Settings app, then go to Phone, and select 'Show My Caller ID'. Slide this to the off position.

Alternatively, you can stop your caller ID being revealed by using the relevant code for your country - 141 from a UK landline, for instance.

Now you can call the blocking iPhone, and it will ring normally, since it doesn't know you're the person it blocked. Whether the owner will pick up such a suspicious-looking call is debatable.

How to call someone who has blocked your number on their iPhone: No Caller ID

Read next: How to block and report iMessage spam

How to call someone who has blocked your number: Is it possible to actually block someone, so they can't call?

This article is written from the point of view of someone who has been blocked but needs to get in touch in an emergency. But the rest of us are likely to be horrified by how simple it is to bypass a call block. Is it possible to set up a call block that actually works?

Yes it is. For one thing, simply understanding the method outlined in this article gives you a better chance of defeating it: if you've blocked someone unpleasant and then start getting calls with the ID hidden, don't pick up.

But it's possible to do better than that. It's possible, albeit more complicated, to set up a proper call block that can't be beaten by simply hiding the caller ID. We've updated our 'How to block numbers on your iPhone' article to include a section on dealing specifically with the method outlined in this article: strategies for blocking or ignoring callers who known to hide their caller ID. See: How to block callers using unknown or hidden numbers.

How to call someone who has blocked your number: Are they using Do Not Disturb mode?

There's one more possibility that we haven't addressed so far in this article: the contact who isn't picking up your calls or answering your texts may be using Do Not Disturb rather than blocking you individually. Do Not Disturb is a bit like a temporary way of blocking everybody.

The symptoms of Do Not Disturb are similar in many ways to those of being blocked - the phone rings once then goes to voicemail, texts appear to have been delivered normally - but the workarounds if you need to get in touch in an emergency are slightly different. Calling at different times of day, for instance, and calling twice within a short of space can both get through a DND barrier but would never be helpful in bypassing a call block.

For more information in working out whether your friend is using Do Not Disturb mode, and how to call someone who is using Do Not Disturb, read How to tell if someone is using Do Not Disturb mode.

How to call someone who has blocked you: Do Not Disturb mode