Apple CEO Tim Cook has a busy day today. He will start his day by delivering a keynote at the Goldman Sachs Technology and Interactive Conference in San Francisco at 7.15am (PT) (3.15pm GMT). Then he will be whisked more than 2,000 miles to Washington DC to sit beside First Lady Michelle Obama for her husband's State of the Union address.

Cook's stint at The Goldman Sachs conference had been scheduled for 4.15pm (PT) (7.15pm in Washington) but has been moved to the earlier time slot, most likely to accommodate his journey to Washington from San Francisco, where the Goldman Sachs conference is taking place, to be there in time for the 6pm State of Union address (11pm GMT, 3pm PT).

Fortune notes that the earlier time slot for the keynote means that: "Remarks that were going to be delivered after the markets closed Tuesday will now be given while the markets are still open."

9to5Mac thinks that Cook's space in the First Lady's box indicates that Apple will get a mention in the speech. That site suggests: "Those who sit in the 'First Lady’s Box' typically are mentioned during the speech."

Last year the First Lady was joined by Laurene Powell Jobs, widow of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs, she was referred to in the speech as an American entrepreneur. 

The audio from Cook's speech will be streamed live at Apple's website.

Follow Karen Haslam on Twitter / Follow MacworldUK on Twitter

Related:

Tim Cook to speak Tuesday at Goldman Sachs conference

Apple's Tim Cook 'never wanted to sue Samsung'

Apple CEO tells staff the AAPL share price 'isn't our focus'

Apple says it paid $6b in US taxes, 'not enough' claim reports

Did Obama and Apple's Tim Cook discuss tax loopholes?