WWDC - Apple's Worldwide Developer Conference - is set to kick of on 22 June with a keynote at which the company will reveal its plans for the operating systems on our iPhones, iPads, Macs, Watches, HomePods and Apple TVs. The keynote is always a much watch event, but this year there will be much more on offer.

Due to the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic this year Apple is running a virtual WWDC, which means that rather than the usual 6,000 attendees (as of 2018) anyone who is an Apple developer will be able to join the sessions in which Apple discusses the ins and outs of the new operating systems and how the new features can be applied.

In this article we'll start off with how to watch the keynote address, including when it will kick off, and then we'll discuss how you can watch the other WWDC related content that you might be able to gain access to.

When is the WWDC 2020 Keynote?

We can be pretty sure that the keynote will happen on day one of WWDC 2020.

The first day is Monday 22 June, so we expect that will be when the keynote will start. 

This is a little later than usual - Apple's WWDC event normally kicks off in the first or second week of June, but 2020 isn't a normal year so the delay isn't a great surprise.

What time does the WWDC keynote start?

WWDC 2020 will kick off with Apple's keynote at 10am local time (PDT) on Monday 22 June. That translates to 6pm UK time.

A start time of 10am in California translates to the following times when the stream will start playing where you are:

  • US West Coast: Monday 22 June at 10am (PDT)
  • Central US: Monday 22 June at noon (CDT)
  • US East Coast: Monday 22 June at 1pm (EDT)
  • UK: Monday 22 June at 6pm (BST)
  • Paris/central Europe: Monday 22 June at 7pm (CEST)
  • New Delhi: Monday 22 June at 10.30pm (IST)
  • Perth/western Australia/Singapore: Tuesday 23 June at 1am (AWST)
  • Adelaide/central Australia: Tuesday 23 June at 2.30am (ACST)
  • Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane/Canberra: Tuesday 23 June at 3am (AEST)

The keynote is likely to last between 1.5 and 2 hours.

How to watch the WWDC Keynote

Apple will livestream the keynote presentation so anyone can watch. Below we will run though the various ways to watch depending on your device.

Apple Keynote

How to watch on the Mac

There are a few ways to watch the WWDC keynote on a Mac.

You can watch where it streams on the Apple Website through Safari on macOS Sierra 10.12 or later. To watch, simply head to the Apple Event page. Although it looks like Apple will stream it directly on apple.com.

You will also be able to watch - and download the keynote - in the TV app here. (Currently that link goes to the September 2019 event).

It will also be available to watch on the Apple Developer website.

Following the end of the keynote it will also be available to watch in the Apple Podcast app here and the Apple TV app.

You can also watch previous year's keynotes in Apple's Podcasts app, which is available in macOS Catalina.

How to watch on iPad or iPad

Apple says its keynote videos are best experienced on an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch using Safari on iOS 10 or later (although it will play on iOS 9 too).

To watch, either go to the Apple Event page or open the TV app and watch the stream there. 

How to watch on Apple TV

Apple TV users will be able to watch the keynote as long as they have an Apple TV that supports the App Store and features the TV app.

You will be able to watch the keynote via the TV app.

Previously Apple hosted the WWDC keynote inside a dedicated Events app on the Apple TV but this year that app has been made redundant and instead the keynote will appear as an option within the TV app.

How to watch on YouTube

Apple will also stream the keynote on YouTube here.

The stream is already set up with a preview published on YouTube. You can create a "Watch Later" reminder so you don't miss the show.

How to watch on a PC

PC owners will need Microsoft Edge on Windows 10 to watch on Apple's site. Or they can watch using YouTube as above.

How to watch on anything else...

Apple says other platforms may be able to access the stream using recent versions of Chrome or Firefox (MSE, H.264, and AAC required).

To watch, visit the Apple Event page.

How to watch at an Apple Store

In the past local stores participated in broadcast events which the public was encouraged to sign up for on Apple's website where you can search for your local store. However, in the current pandemic it is unlikely that Apple will be encouraging gatherings at the Apple Stores this year.

UK Apple Stores have reopened in most locations (find out if the Apple Stores have reopened near you). If your local store is open it may be broadcasting the event on a screen there. 

In 2019 the following stores showed the keynote:

  • Greenhithe, Bluewater
  • Liverpool, Liverpool
  • London, Brent Cross
  • London, Covent Garden
  • London, Regent Street
  • Manchester, Arndale
  • Sheffield, Meadowhall
  • Southampton

Apple Store

Can I join WWDC sessions?

WWDC isn't just the keynote. If you want to find out more about the new software coming to Macs, iPhones, iPads and other Apple products you may be interested to learn that in 2020 Apple will be allowing all registered developers to access the sessions online.

Apple has announced the line-up for WWDC, including timings for the Platforms State of the Union presentation and the 100+ developer sessions.

Unfortunately only registered developers can listen into sessions - which are usually protected by an NDA. However, if you are a registered developer and normally you are one of the many who misses out on WWDC tickets, this year you will gain access to all the sessions - and crucially, have the ability to ask your questions of the presenters. More information about the WWDC line up and how to watch the sessions here.

How to register as a developer

To register as a developer head over to the Apple Developer Program registration page and click Enrol.

Registering as an Apple developer will give you access to support materials, and enable you to register Macs and iOS devices with Apple so you can use them to run your software.

You can sign in with your own Apple ID (recommended if you're a single developer), or you can create an Apple ID just for the developer account (recommended if you are developing for a company).

You don't have to pay Apple to register as a developer. You can sign up and gain access to all the developer tools without paying a penny. The basic registration is fine for developing and testing an app, although you will need to sign up with Apple for membership if you want to download the developer previews.

How to join WWDC sessions

Apple has said that the new WWDC 2020 format will deliver a "full program with an online keynote and sessions, offering a great learning experience for our entire developer community, all around the world".

However, for now we don't know exactly what sessions will be available or how interested parties will be able to join them.

Apple does promise that it will be sharing all the details in the weeks ahead, so we'll keep you posted.