Apple's Photos app can be quite clever when it comes to recognising faces. This allows it to group various images together featuring a particular individual, which can be very handy.

Of course, it's not perfect, and this sometimes results in misidentified faces, requiring you to correct them manually. The problem is, it's not immediately apparent where these corrections can be done.

Thankfully, it's quite easy once you know how, so here are the steps you need for fixing or removing faces wrongly identified by Photos on iPhone.

Finding faces in the People album on iPhone

The first thing you'll need to do is find the person (or face) in question. To do this, open the Photos app and tap on the Albums option at the bottom of the screen then scroll up until you find the People & Places section, then tap on the box marked People.

How to fix wrongly identified faces in iPhone photos: Albums

In here you'll see a sub-album for each person that Photos believes it has identified in one or more pictures. Tap on a face and you'll see all the pictures in which Photos thinks this person appears.

Changing wrong faces in iPhone Photos

If there are faces of people other than the one that album should represent, this is what to do:

  1. First click on that person's album.
  2. Next tap on Select which you will see underneath the Memories video that appears at the top of the album.
  3. Now you'll see a new option pop up at the bottom of the page entitled Show faces. Tap this.
  4. Photos will now show you the areas of each picture in which it thinks it sees that person's face. Scroll down and if you find one that's wrong, tap on the image. Keep scrolling until you have all the wrong images selected. 
  5. Then tap the Share icon in the bottom left corner.

    How to fix wrongly identified faces in iPhone photos: Correct a face

  6. The Share menu will appear but included in it this time is an icon named Not This Person. Click on this.

How to fix wrongly identified faces in iPhone photos: Not This Person

Tapping this will remove the association between the photo and the person, sending the image back into the general population and leaving your friend's visage undefiled once more.