Apple will unveil its new iPhone 11/Pro handsets at a special event tomorrow night (10 September 2019). For the first time ever, this event will be live-streamed on YouTube (embedded above - you can watch it right here), as well as on Apple's own website, so even those who haven't been lucky enough to receive an invitation will easily be able to watch the announcements as they happen.

In this article we explain how to watch Apple's iPhone 11 launch event live. We also offer details of the event, such as when it starts, how long it's likely to last and what models of iPhones, iPads, Macs and PCs will be able to stream the live video.

If you'd like to watch the event with expert analysis at the same time, may we recommend IDG TechTalk's coverage (embedded below)? Hosts Ken Mingis and Juliet Beauchamp will discuss the news live, split-screen with the feed from Apple.

What time does the iPhone 11 event start?

  • iPhone 11 event start time: 10 September 2019, at 10am California time/6pm UK time

It starts at 10am Pacific Time (local time, since it takes place in California) on Tuesday 10 September. Here's what that translates to in the countries where most of our readers live:

  • UK: Tuesday 10 September at 6pm (BST)
  • US: Tuesday 10 September at 9am (AKDT), 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT)
  • Canada: Tuesday 10 September at 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT), 2pm (ADT)
  • India: Tuesday 10 September at 10.30pm (IST)
  • Australia: Wednesday 11 September at 1am (AWST), 2.30am (ACST), 3am (AEST)

The announcements will most likely last around 2 hours, but not all of that will be iPhone-related. The first bit - probably between 5 and 15 minutes - will be preliminary chat, sales figures, promotional videos and so on. Then they'll get into the serious product announcements.

We expect significant stage time to be devoted to the Apple Watch Series 5, and there may well be a new iPad and a Tile-like tracking device.

How to watch the iPhone 11 event live

You've got a number of options. You can watch on Apple's YouTube channel, which we've embedded at the top of this page, or watch it split-screen with expert analysis on IDG TECHtalk. Or you can watch on Apple's own website.

(Last year Apple also streamed the event live on Twitter. It hasn't yet announced whether this experiment will be repeated for 2019, but if we hear anything we will update this article to include a link.)

At time of writing, Apple's special events page is displaying a reminder of the 10 September event on the US version, but not on the UK version. Don't worry, Brits: we won't be left behind. Wherever you're viewing from, go to Apple events on the night and enjoy. You'll be redirected to the correct page.

Which Macs can stream the iPhone 11 event live on Apple's website?

Apple hasn't announced the system requirements yet, but we've got a good idea from what was required to watch WWDC keynote in June 2019.

On a Mac you needed to be running Safari on macOS Sierra 10.12 or later, and we imagine roughly the same setup will be required for September's event.

To watch, simply head to the Apple Events page. (Or use the YouTube videos embedded above.)

Which iPhones and iPads can stream the iPhone 11 event live?

Apple said back in June that its keynote videos are best experienced on an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch using Safari on iOS 10 or later, but conceded that videos will play on iOS 9 too.

Which Apple TVs can stream the iPhone 11 event live?

Any Apple TV that's 2nd-gen or later and running the latest version of tvOS or the Apple TV software will be able to stream the event via the Apple Events app.

Which PCs can stream the iPhone 11 event live?

We expect that PC owners will need Microsoft Edge on Windows 10.

Other devices and platforms

Based on WWDC, Apple says other platforms may be able to access the stream using recent versions of Chrome or Firefox (MSE, H.264, and AAC required).