Apple will unveil new products at a special event on Tuesday 15 September 2020. This event will be live-streamed on Apple's website a well as on YouTube (this is embeded  above so you can watch it right here). As a result you will easily be able to watch the announcements as they happen.

We can't be sure what will launch at the event, but the expecation is that there will be new iPads, a new Apple Watch (that seems certain given the name of the event: Time Flies) and possibly AirTags, the rumoured Apple One subscription bundle, new Apple TV hardware and the AirPods Studio. Disappointingly it doesn't seem that Apple will be launching iPhone 12 yet. Here's more information on what to expect at the Apple Event.

In this article we explain how to watch Apple's September 15 launch event live. We also offer details of the event, such as when it starts, how long it's likely to last and what models of iPhones, iPads, Macs and PCs will be able to stream the live video.

What time does the Apple event start?

  • Apple event start time: 15 September 2020, at 10am California time/6pm UK time

It starts at 10am Pacific Time (local time, since it takes place in California) on Tuesday 15 September. Here's what that translates to in the countries where most of our readers live:

  • UK: Tuesday 15 September at 6pm (BST)
  • US: Tuesday 15 September at 9am (AKDT), 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT)
  • Canada: Tuesday 15 September at 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT), 2pm (ADT)
  • India: Tuesday 15 September at 10.30pm (IST)
  • Australia: Wednesday 16 September at 1am (AWST), 2.30am (ACST), 3am (AEST)

If Apple was expected to announce the iPhone 12 we'd say the announcements would last around 2 hours, but since we are not expecting the iPhone we expect the event to be shorter, maybe an hour to an hour and a half. The first bit - probably between 5 and 15 minutes - will be preliminary chat, sales figures, promotional videos and so on. Then they'll get into the serious product announcements.

We have more information about what to expect from the next Apple Event here.

How to watch the Apple event live

You've got a number of options. You can watch on Apple's YouTube channel, which we will embedded at the top of this page. Or you can watch on Apple's own website.

(In the past Apple has also streamed the event live on Twitter. It hasn't yet announced whether this experiment will be repeated.)

At time of writing, Apple's special events page is displaying a reminder of the 15 September event on the US version, but not on the UK version. Don't worry, Brits: we won't be left behind. Wherever you're viewing from, go to Apple events on the night and enjoy. You'll be redirected to the correct page.

How to watch the Apple event on a Mac

Apple hasn't announced the system requirements, but we've got a good idea from what was required to watch the WWDC keynote in June 2020.

On a Mac you needed to be running Safari on macOS Sierra 10.12 or later, and we imagine roughly the same setup will be required for September's event.

To watch, simply head to the Apple Events page. (Or use the YouTube videos embedded above.)

Following the end of the keynote it will also be available to watch in the Apple Podcast app here and the Apple TV app.

You can also watch previous year's keynotes in Apple's Podcasts app, which is available in macOS Catalina.

How to watch the Apple event on iPad or iPhone

Apple says that its keynote videos are best experienced on an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch using Safari on iOS 10 or later, but conceded that videos will play on iOS 9 too.

To watch, either go to the Apple Event page or open the TV app and watch the stream there. 

How to watch the Apple event on Apple TV

Apple TV users will be able to watch the keynote as long as they have an Apple TV that supports the App Store and features the TV app. (That's any Apple TV that's 2nd-gen or later and running the latest version of tvOS or the Apple TV software).

You will be able to watch the keynote via the TV app.

Previously Apple has hosted keynotes inside a dedicated Events app on the Apple TV but this year that app has been made redundant and instead the keynote will appear as an option within the TV app.

How to watch the Apple event on a PC?

PC owners will need Microsoft Edge on Windows 10 to watch on Apple's site. Or they can watch using YouTube as above.

How to watch on anything else...

Apple says other platforms may be able to access the stream using recent versions of Chrome or Firefox (MSE, H.264, and AAC required).

To watch, visit the Apple Event page.