Adobe Systems has announced the winners of its 10 annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards (ADAA), celebrating global student achievements.

The awards aim to honour the most talented and promising student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers, developers and computer artists from the world's top higher- education institutions.

Renowned designer, Stefan Bucher, served as the Master of Ceremonies during a ceremony at the Regal Cinemas Premiere House in Los Angeles, California, with winners recognised in 12 categories across interactive media, film and motion and traditional media including.

Browser-Based Design—Tiago Cabaco, 'Case Study: Kalvika,' Academy of Art University, United States
Non-Browser Based Design—Anthony Mattox, 'Pulsus,' Maryland Institute College of Art, United States
Application Development—Andrew Mahon and Zeke Shore, 'VoxPop,' Parsons The New School for Design, United States
Mobile Design—Laura Bordin, 'Heart Lift,' IUAV University of Venice, Italy
Installation Design—a team led by Marco Werner, 'Buchmesse 2009,' Dortmund University of Applied Science, Germany
Animation—Napatsawan Chirayukool, 'What Makes Your Day?,' Kingston University, United Kingdom
Live Action—Victor Aloji, 'Ad Against Child Sexual Abuse,' Hamburger Technische Kunstschule, Germany
Motion Graphics—Edeline Bernal, '29,' York University/Sheridan College, Canada
Illustration—Soonkyu Jang, 'World Championship 2010,' Dankook, Korea
Packaging—Linna Xu, 'Ilford Film,” York University/Sheridan College, Canada
Photography—Natalia Luzenko, 'To Wait and See,' Fachhochschule Wuerzburg-Schweinfurt, Germany
Print Communications— Chiharu Tanaka, 'MONYO+MOJI,' Academy of Art University, United States

The winning entries can be viewed at ADAA Gallery - - along with the 2010 finalists and those who have placed and won over the previous nine years.

According to Adobe, winners were selected by a global panel of industry judges based on originality, effectiveness in meeting the communication objectives outlined for each submission category, and contestant(s) skills in applying Adobe products.

Adobe adaagallery

Judges included: Meg Barbour (United States), principal/'first chair' at The Barbour Shop, a renowned post-production shop for TV, film, Web and mobile; Steve Cornwell (Australia), CEO of brand identity company, Cornwell Design; Diego Marini (France), Accelerated Solution Environment network graphic designer and art director; Bruno Porto (Brazil), graphic designer, educator and consultant; Kevin Slavin (United States), managing director and co-founder of Area/Code, creators of cross-media games and entertainment; Erik Spiekermann (Germany), creative director of Edenspiekermann and former ambassador for the European Year of Creativity and Innovation; and Lawrence Zeegen, head of school of communication design, Kingston University (United Kingdom).
"It’s very important for design education to be engaged and involved in producing the kind of graduates who are going to change perceptions within the design industry - ones who will rock boats, rather than row boats and those who will continue to move the industry forward," said Lawrence Zeegen, head of school of communication design at Kingston University.
All individual and leaders of the group category winners received a $3,000 cash prize, a winner’s certificate, a 3D award, a copy of Adobe Creative Suite 5 Master Collection software (individual winner) or his/her choice of either Creative Suite 5 Design Premium, Creative Suite 5 Web Premium or Creative Suite 5 Production Premium education version software (group winner).

"The Adobe Design Achievement Award competition attracts the best student designers in the world. We feel fortunate to be able to shine a light on these future creative leaders," said Ann Lewnes, senior vice president of corporate marketing at Adobe.
For the second consecutive year, Adobe collaborated with Icograda, International Council of Graphic Design Associations, to attract student submissions from the Icograda Education Network, and select an international panel of design experts to judge the awards.

Individual winners and team captains also received a one-year mentorship with a design leader from the Icograda network and may be appointed to the Icograda Youth Advisory Panel.

Close to 20,000 students across 52 countries have participated in the ADAA competition, since the awards began in 2001.