The 1394 Trade Association last week selected its board for 2008.

Apple's Eric Anderson has been re-elected chairman of the industry body that looks after Firewire development.

2008 board members also include Max Bassler of Littlefuse, Dave Thompson of LSI, Don Harwood of Oxford Semiconductor, and Burke Henehan of Symwave. The board also includes representation from Microsoft, Texas Instruments and WJ Rose Consulting.

The trade goup is close to ratify a new Firewire specification that uses already deployed Firewire 800 inteconnects but operates at quadruple the speed of that standard, 3.2Gbps.