The iTunes Store has launched in more than 50 new countries today, including Russia, Turkey, India and South Africa, Apple has announced.

In a press released sent out by Apple this morning, the company said that the iTunes Store features local artists including Elka in Russia, Sezen Asku in Turkey, AR Rahman in India, and Zahara in South Africa, as well as well known international artists such as The Beatles, Taylor Swift, Coldplay and classical musicians among its 20 million songs.

Apple also notes that Russia, Turkey, India, Indonesia and "select additional countries" will be able to rent or buy movies from the iTunes Store, including those from leading local distributors. iTunes in the Cloud and iTunes Match services have also been introduced across these countries.

Today's iTunes Store rollout means that the service is now available in a total of 119 countries worldwide, while the App Store, which contains more than 700,000 apps, is available in 155 countries.

These launches follow Apple's release of iTunes 11 last week, a comprehensive update to the software that introduces a completely redesigned interface and a new range of features.

Apple also announced that it would be launching its iPhone 5 in South Korea this week, with more than 50 other countries to follow, bringing the device to more than 100 countries in total.

See also:

Apple's iTunes 11 adds evidence to 2013 launch of 'iRadio' music streaming service
iTunes 11: US shoppers can redeem store cards with FaceTime camera
Where to find the Tesco ad music on iTunes
Apple releases iOS 6.1 beta 3 to developers
Apple confirms: 'We are hard at work on the next version of Logic Pro'