Adobe has changed its terms of use for the Photoshop Expres service.

That the terms of use originally said that by uploading images to publicly accessible areas of the service, users did in the process: "grant Adobe a worldwide, royalty-free, nonexclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, and fully sublicensable license to use, distribute, derive revenue or other remuneration from, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, publicly perform and publicly display such Content (in whole or in part) and to incorporate such Content into other Materials or works in any format or medium now known or later developed."

According to Adobe, in the new terms of use the company has retained only those limited rights that allow them to operate the service. If a user decides to terminate their Photoshop Express account, Adobe's rights also will be terminated. Adobe said they don't claim ownership of the content and won't sell the images.

The new terms of use go into effect on 10 April, 2008.