Adobe has announced its sixth annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards.

The multidisciplinary annual student design competition recognises talented student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers and computer artists.

Students from Australia, Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Switzerland, the US and the UK have all been eligible for the competition in previous years.

This year's competition is also open to students from: Belgium, China, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Korea, the Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, South Africa, Sweden, and Taiwan.

Submissions - created using Adobe software - are requested in nine categories, including: live action, motion graphics, environmental graphics/packaging, print multi-page, print single page, animation, digital illustration, digital photography and interactive design (includes website, user-interface, curriculum, and kiosk design).

It's not just a bit of fun - previous winners have seen a positive boost to their careers: "Winning an Adobe Design Achievement Award helped advance my career as a creative," said William Staehle, design manager for HarperCollins.

"The competition gave me the opportunity to connect and show my work to some of the design world's biggest names and was instrumental in landing my post-college position at HarperCollins," he said

Submitted projects will be assessed by a six-strong panel of judges, including: Leslie Allen from Cinergy Creative, Julie Beeler from Second Story, Rodolphe Guenoden from Dreamworks Animation, Diti Katona from Concrete Design Communications, Masamichi Udagawa from Antenna Design New York, and Jan Wilker from karlssonwilker.

Finalists get a trip to the awards bash in Toronto and will meet with leading industry pros during studio tours. The award winners will be announced at the awards do on July 20, 2006. Each winning entry gets $5000 and a selection of Adobe software products.

The deadline for entries is April 28, 2006.