Adobe has announced the winners of its fifth annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards.

The scheme aims to recognise digital creatives and their achievements using Adobe's design software products. Over 1,500 students from across the world entered work to this years competition.

Adobe senior vice president of corporate marketing and communications Melissa Dyrdahl said: "The Adobe Design Achievement Awards recognises the talents of future creative professionals from around the world."

Winners were selected based on overall impact, design execution and technical capabilities. Finalists received a trip to New York City to participate in the awards event, and to showcase their work. First place entries received $5,000 and a selection of Adobe products.

In a ceremony at New York's Guggenheim Museum, students were recognised for their achievements in nine categories:

Animation category:
The winner was Yibi Hu from London's Kingston University, and finalists included Sean Jimenez from California Institute of the Arts and Megan Kelly from San Jose State University.

Broadcast Design:
The winner was Andreas Gaschka from Fachhochschule Mainz University of Applied Sciences in Mainz, Germany, and finalists were Eric Edwards from Savannah College of Art and Design and Will Johnson also from Savannah College of Art and Design.

Digital Illustration:
The winner was Klaas Neumann from Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg Germany, and finalists were Elliot Lim from Art Centre College of Design and Rebecca Shostak from the University of California.

Digital Photography:
The winner was Micah Ganske from Yale School of Art, and finalists were Elizabeth Buchta from California Institute of the Arts and David Field from Savannah College of Art and Design.

Environmental Graphics:
The winner was Hildegard Brinkel from Hochschule Anhalt, Anhalt University of Applied Science in Bernberg, Germany, and finalists were Jens Kretschmer from Universität Stuttgart in Stuttgart, Germany, and Mary Prendergast from University of Notre Dame.

Interactive Design:
The winner was Jeff Krichmar from Ringling School of Art and Design, and the finalist was Elsa Chaves, also from Ringling School of Art and Design.

The winner was Roxane Zargham from the University of California, and finalists were Emily Lessard from Yale School of Art and Marius Lohmann from Fachhochschule Aachen in Aachen, Germany.

Self Expression:
The winner was Chean Wei Law from Ringling School of Art and Design, and finalists were Emory Allen from the University of Wisconsin, and Crista Hirzel from Massachusetts College of Art.

Time-Based Media:
The winner was Sophie Clements from Royal College of Art, and finalists were Christoph Behm from Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Braunschweig, Germany and Yongjin Park from The School of the Art Institute of Chicago.