Adobe has announced the winners of its sixth annual Design Achievement Awards.

Winners were selected from a pool of 1,800 entries from students in 24 countries who entered their work this year. The winning entries can be viewed online.

"Honouring the top students in the creative arts is part of Adobe's ongoing commitment to design and film education, and to the creative professional market," said Melissa Dyrdahl, senior vice president of corporate marketing and communications at Adobe. "Winning an Adobe Design Achievement Award is just the beginning for these students; winners have the opportunity to gain exposure to the creative community, jumpstart their careers in the creative arts, and showcase their talents at industry events such as Sundance, Cannes and the ZeroOne Festival."

In a ceremony at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto students were recognised for their achievements in nine categories.

The winners

The animation category winner was Keng-Ming Liu from the School of Visual Arts in New York, and the finalists were Stephen Neary from New York University, and Sunha Yoon from the California Institute of the Arts in Valencia, Calif.

In the Environmental Graphics and Packaging category, the winner was Amy Wang from School of Visual Arts, and the finalists were Mona Bagla from Ringling School of Art and Design in Sarasota, Fla., and Forest Young and Rebecca Gimenez from Yale University.

In the Digital Illustration category, the winner was Lucie Bichelberger from é in Paris, and the finalists were Paul Bellila from l'Université Marc Bloch in Strasbourg, France, and Adam Simpson from Royal College of Art in London.

In the Interactive Design category, the winner was Janina Boesch from Rhode Island School of Design, and the finalists were, Filip Olszewski from Rhode Island School of Design and Sam Smelter from the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

In the Live Action category, the winner was Karolina Novitska from Massachusetts College of Art in Boston, and the finalists were Matthew Murdoch from Royal College of Art, and Brian Wee from Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, Calif.

In the Motion Graphics category, the winner was Howard Hao-An Tsai from Art Center College of Design; and the finalists were Steven Baughman from Parsons School of Design in New York, and Jonathon Corbiere from Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning in Ontario, Canada.

In the Digital Photography category, the winner was Nils Orth from Tyler School of Art at Temple University, Pennsylvania and the finalists were Kyley Hellhake from Kutztown University, and Katherine Sheridan from Columbia College Chicago.

In the Print Design Multi-Page category, the winner was Stephan Powilat and Mathias Vogel from Fachhochschule Mainz in Mainz, Germany, and finalists were Anne-Katrin Ahrens from Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg, Germany, and Albert J. Ignacio, Yaeger Moravia Rosenberg and Marcelo Viana from California College of the Arts in Oakland, Calif.

In the Print Design Single-Page category the winner was Hank Huang from Art Center College of Design, and the finalists were Aliza Dzik and Dyland Fracareta from Yale University, and Jiwon Lee from California Institute of the Arts.

Finalists received a trip to Toronto to participate in the awards event and to attend studio tours. Winners were selected based on overall impact, design execution and technical capabilities. First place entries received $5,000 and a selection of Adobe products. As part of the program, students are also offered internships and opportunities to showcase their work at events like the ZeroOne Festival and Sundance.