Apple is accepting entries for the Apple Design Awards 2006.

The winners will be announced at August's Worldwide Developer Conference (WWDC) in San Francisco. The company will also be demonstrating the next version of Mac OS X (Leopard) at that event.

It's the eleventh time the company has run the Apple Design Awards. Apple says they aim to: "Recognise technical excellence and outstanding achievement in software products and solutions for Mac OS X."

This year's contest focuses on software products and solutions developed for Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger.

Award-winners in each award category will receive two 15-inch MacBook Pros, two Apple 23-inch Cinema Displays, an ADC Premier Membership, a WWDC 2006 e-ticket, and an exhibitor space at Macworld 2007. The Student category winner will receive one 15-inch MacBook Pro, one Apple 23-inch Cinema Display, one 60GB iPod, an ADC Student Membership, and a WWDC 2006 Student e-ticket.

Apple Design Awards 2006 categories include:

Best Mac OS X Developer Tool;
Best Use of Mac OS X Graphics;
Best Mac OS X Dashboard Widget;
Best Mac OS X Automator Workflow;
Best Mac OS X User Experience;
Best Mac OS X Game;
Best Mac OS X Scientific Computing Solution;
Best Mac OS X Student Product.