2021 might have been another unusual year for Planet Earth, but the ongoing health crisis didn't stop Apple from creating and launching new products at a series of events. In 2021 there were four such events: a spring event on 20 April, WWDC on 7 June, the iPhone launch event on 14 September, and a Mac launch on 18 October.

No more events are expected in 2021 now, at least that's what Bloomberg's Mark Gurman indicated in an 24 October newsletter and we are inclined to agree. Gurman "doesn't expect" a new event this year, nor any major product launches. This is despite the fact that in 2020 Apple held a November event in addition to the September and October events.

It certainly looks like Apple has done all it intends to do in 2021, so now we are looking ahead to 2022 to see what events and new product launches Apple might have in store.

When is Apple's next event?

  • March or April 2022

In a typical year there are normally up to four Apple events at which the company unveils its latest products in front of a large crowd.

In a less typical year, like 2020 and 2021, Apple doesn't invite people to events, but it makes no less of an impact by inviting everyone to join it in an online broadcast. We actually preferred Apple's video presentations in 2020 to the usual events in front of an audience.

Some years there will be no spring event and other years Apple will skip the October event, like it did in 2019, but, based on previous years, we expect that Apple's year will look something like this: 

  • March/April (often includes iPads)
  • June (WWDC - mostly software, sometimes high-end/pro hardware)
  • September (iPhones and Apple Watches)
  • October (iPads and consumer-focused Macs)

What time will the next Apple event start?

Apple's events usually start at 10am in California, which is 6pm UK time.

Here's what that translates to in the countries where most of our readers live (although there is a potential for disruption of these times based on when countries adopt daylight saving).

  • UK: at 6pm (BST/GMT)
  • Europe: at 7pm (CEST/CET)
  • US: 10am (PDT/PT), 11am (MDT/MT), noon (CDT/CT), 1pm (EDT/ET)
  • Canada:  10am (PDT/PT), 11am (MDT/MT), noon (CDT/CT), 1pm (EDT/ET), 2pm (ADT/AT)
  • India: 10.30pm (IST)
  • Australia: at 2am (AWST), 2.30am (ACST), 3am (AEST), 3.30am (ACDT), 4am (AEDT)

Apple events usually last between one and two hours.

Apple's Spring 2022 event

  • Tuesday 19 April - predicted.

To come up with our prediction we looked at when Apple normally holds its spring events. Until 2019 Apple tended to hold the event in March, but in 2021 the event was held in April and, while there was no spring event in 2020 (which isn't surprising given the arrival of COVID around that time) Apple launched the iPhone SE 2 in a press release on 15 April 2020, so if a spring 2020 event had been held it would have probably taken place on 15 April 2020. So our estimate of the 19 April fits in between those two dates.

However, it is possible that Apple will instead hold an event towards the end of March, based on previous years 22 or 29 March could be possible.

  • 2021: 20 April
  • 2020: No event (but iPhone SE launched on 15 April)
  • 2019: 25 March
  • 2018: 27 March
  • 2017: No Event
  • 2016: 21 March
  • 2015: 9 March

Will there even be a spring event in 2022? We think there will. We are hearing lots of rumours about new products we could see in the first part of 2022 including the following:

  • We could see a new iPad Air at this event. This seems likely because Apple often updates iPads in the spring, and also the iPad Air was the only iPad not to be updated in 2021.
  • There are lots of rumours indicating that a new-look MacBook Air with M2 chip is in the works at Apple. This could launch in the first part of 2022, but it's looking like it might be delayed until later in the year.
  • Apple launched new AirPods in October 2021, but there are new AirPods Pro coming in 2022, according to rumours. These could appear in the spring of 2022.
  • There have been rumours over the last couple of years that there could be an update to the iPhone SE. It seems that the model introduced in 2020 could get a larger iPhone SE Plus sibling, or at least an upgrade to 5G. This could theoretically happen in the spring of 2022.

WWDC 2022 event

  • Monday 6 June - predicted

Our prediction of the WWDC event is based on the usual timing for WWDC. With the exception of 2020 the conference has been held in the first week of June, with one or two exceptions. Here are the dates at which WWDC has kicked off in previous years. The event is a week long and the keynote is always on the Monday.

  • 2021: 7 June
  • 2020: 22 June
  • 2019: 3 June
  • 2018: 4 June
  • 2017: 5 June
  • 2016: 13 June
  • 2015: 8 June

It might seem a long way in the future, but we are already hearing about products that could launch at WWDC 2022, including:

  • A new larger iMac. It seems likely that the larger iMac will get a bigger screen and a redesign in line with the 24in model and a M1 Pro or M1 Max chip like the 14 and 16in MacBook Pro models did.
  • We are also expecting Apple to replace the Intel version of the Mac mini with a Mac mini powered by the M1 Pro or M1 Max in the first half of 2022, so this could appear in June, if not earlier in the spring.
  • We will obviously hear about the next versions of Apple's operating systems - the event is heavily focused on these updates. So expect to hear all about macOS 13 and iOS 16.

September 2022 iPhone event

  • Tuesday 13 or Wednesday 14 September 2022 - predicted

Who knows what autumn 2022 could bring, but Apple has launched a new iPhone in the September of practically every year in the past decade, so a new iPhone seems almost certain for September.

2020 was an exception to that rule - with the iPhone launch in October, but the company still held a September event. Apple clearly likes to hold September events.

On that basis, if you want to pencil in a potential date for an iPhone launch - or at least a September event - based on the dates Apple has held previous September events took place on we predict Tuesday 13 or Wednesday 14 September 2022.

  • 2021: Tuesday 14 September
  • 2020: Tuesday 15 September (Not an iPhone event)
  • 2019: Tuesday 10 September
  • 2018: Wednesday 12 September
  • 2017: Tuesday 12 September
  • 2016: Wednesday 7 September
  • 2015: Wednesday 9 September
  • 2014: Tuesday 9 September
  • 2013: Tuesday 10 September
  • 2012: Wednesday 12 September

As for what will launch:

  • The iPhone 14 seems like a safe bet. In 2022 the line up is expected to consist of two medium size iPhones and two large iPhones. There will not be a mini iPhone in 2022, apparently.
  • Apple Watch 8 is also likely to launch. Maybe in 2022 we will see the Apple Watch redesign that was rumoured for 2021, but never appeared. Read: Why Apple Watch 7 didn't match the leaks: Prosser's conspiracy theory.

October 2022 Mac event

  • Tuesday 12 October 2022 - predicted

In 2020 October saw Apple unveil the iPhone 12. It was an unusual year though and normally the iPhone would have made its premiere in September. October is usually the month when Apple announces new Macs and new iPads.

Wondering what date to pencil in for 2022? The October events of the past have (or haven't) taken place on the following dates, so we anticipate an event on Tuesday 12 or Wednesday 13 October.

  • 2021: Monday 18 October
  • 2020: Tuesday 13 October
  • 2019: no October event
  • 2018: Tuesday 30 October
  • 2017: no October event
  • 2016: Thursday 27 October
  • 2015: no October event
  • 2014: Thursday 16 October
  • 2013: Tuesday 22 October
  • 2012: Tuesday 23 October
  • 2011: Tuesday 4 October

What will Apple launch in October 2022? One of the biggest clues is the fact that it will be exactly two years since the arrival of the first M1 Mac, and Apple said that it would complete its transition of Macs from Intel to its own silicon within two years. On that basis, we would hope to see the following:

  • Apple will undoubtedly have its work cut out upgrading the Mac Pro - assuming that it keeps it in the line up. The Mac Pro needs to be customisable and upgradable if it is to meet the demands of the market it is designed for. Plus it should trump the already impressive MacBook Pro with M1 Max. We can't wait to see what Apple has up its sleeve with the Mac Pro in 2022.