Apple events 2022: What you should know about Apple's next event

Everything you should know about Apple's events in 2022, including keynote details and start times, and everything Apple could launch in 2022.

By

2021 was another unusual year for Planet Earth, but the ongoing health crisis didn't stop Apple from creating and launching new products at a series of events. In 2021 there were four such events: a spring event on 20 April, WWDC on 7 June, the iPhone launch event on 14 September, and a Mac launch on 18 October.

Now we are looking ahead to see what events and new product launches Apple might have in store for 2022.

When is Apple's next event?

In a typical year there are normally up to four Apple events at which the company unveils its latest products in front of a large crowd.

In a less typical year, like 2020 and 2021, Apple doesn't invite people to events, but it makes no less of an impact by inviting everyone to join it in an online broadcast. We actually preferred Apple's video presentations in 2020 to the usual events in front of an audience.

Some years there will be no spring event and other years Apple will skip the October event, like it did in 2019, but, based on previous years, we expect that Apple's year will look something like this: 

  • March/April (often includes iPads)
  • June (WWDC - mostly software, sometimes high-end/pro hardware)
  • September (iPhones and Apple Watches)
  • October (iPads and consumer-focused Macs)

What time will the next Apple event start?

Apple's events usually start at 10am in California, which is 6pm UK time.

Here's what that translates to in the countries where most of our readers live (although there is a potential for disruption of these times based on when countries adopt daylight saving).

  • UK: at 6pm (BST/GMT)
  • Europe: at 7pm (CEST/CET)
  • US: 10am (PDT/PT), 11am (MDT/MT), noon (CDT/CT), 1pm (EDT/ET)
  • Canada:  10am (PDT/PT), 11am (MDT/MT), noon (CDT/CT), 1pm (EDT/ET), 2pm (ADT/AT)
  • India: 10.30pm (IST)
  • Australia: at 2am (AWST), 2.30am (ACST), 3am (AEST), 3.30am (ACDT), 4am (AEDT)

Apple events usually last between one and two hours.

Apple's Spring 2022 event

  • Tuesday 28 March 2022 (predicted).

To come up with our prediction we looked at when Apple normally holds its spring events (see the list below). Prior to 2020 Apple tended to hold the event in March, but in 2021 the event was held in April and, while there was no spring event in 2020 (which isn't surprising given the arrival of COVID around that time) Apple launched the iPhone SE 2 in a press release in April 2020, so if a spring 2020 event had been held it would have probably taken place then.

If you take the dates in 2020 and 2021, and the ongoing component shortages and other delays being faced by the industry, an April date might look more likely, however Easter falls on Sunday 17 April this year, so we wouldn't expect the Apple Event to fall too close to that date.

2021: 20 April
2020: No event (but iPhone SE launched on 15 April)
2019: 25 March
2018: 27 March
2017: No Event
2016: 21 March
2015: 9 March

Will there even be a spring event in 2022? We think there will. We are hearing lots of rumours about new products we could see in the first part of 2022 including the following:

  • We could see a new iPad Air at this event. This seems likely because Apple often updates iPads in the spring, and also the iPad Air was the only iPad not to be updated in 2021.
  • A new larger iMac. It seems likely that the larger iMac will get a bigger screen and a redesign in line with the 24in model and a M1 Pro or M1 Max chip like the 14 and 16in MacBook Pro models did.
  • We are also expecting Apple to replace the Intel version of the Mac mini with a Mac mini powered by the M1 Pro or M1 Max in the first half of 2022, so this could appear in the spring.
  • Apple launched new AirPods in October 2021, but there are new AirPods Pro coming in 2022, according to rumours. These could appear in the spring of 2022.
  • There have been rumours over the last couple of years that there could be an update to the iPhone SE. It seems that the model introduced in 2020 could get a larger iPhone SE Plus sibling, or at least an upgrade to 5G. This could theoretically happen in the spring of 2022.

WWDC 2022 event

  • Monday 6 June - predicted

Our prediction of the WWDC event is based on the usual timing for WWDC. With the exception of 2020 the conference has been held in the first week of June, with one or two exceptions. Here are the dates at which WWDC has kicked off in previous years. The event is a week long and the keynote is always on the Monday.

2021: 7 June
2020: 22 June
2019: 3 June
2018: 4 June
2017: 5 June
2016: 13 June
2015: 8 June

It might seem a long way in the future, but we are already hearing about products that could launch at WWDC 2022, including:

  • There are lots of rumours indicating that a new-look MacBook Air with M2 chip is in the works at Apple. We could see this alongside a new 13in MacBook Pro.
  • Apple will undoubtedly have its work cut out upgrading the Mac Pro - assuming that it keeps it in the line up. The Mac Pro needs to be customisable and upgradable if it is to meet the demands of the market it is designed for. Plus it should trump the already impressive MacBook Pro with M1 Max. We can't wait to see what Apple has up its sleeve with the Mac Pro in 2022.
  • We will obviously hear about the next versions of Apple's operating systems - the WWDC event is heavily focused on these updates. So expect to hear all about macOS 13 and iOS 16.

September 2022 iPhone event

  • Tuesday 13 or Wednesday 14 September 2022 - predicted

Who knows what autumn 2022 could bring, but Apple has launched a new iPhone in the September of practically every year in the past decade, so a new iPhone seems almost certain for September.

2020 was an exception to that rule - with the iPhone launch in October, but the company still held a September event. Apple clearly likes to hold September events.

On that basis, if you want to pencil in a potential date for an iPhone launch - or at least a September event - based on the dates Apple has held previous September events took place on we predict Tuesday 13 or Wednesday 14 September 2022.

2021: Tuesday 14 September
2020: Tuesday 15 September (Not an iPhone event)
2019: Tuesday 10 September
2018: Wednesday 12 September
2017: Tuesday 12 September
2016: Wednesday 7 September
2015: Wednesday 9 September
2014: Tuesday 9 September
2013: Tuesday 10 September
2012: Wednesday 12 September

As for what will launch:

  • The iPhone 14 seems like a safe bet. In 2022 the line up is expected to consist of two medium size iPhones and two large iPhones. There will not be a mini iPhone in 2022, apparently.
  • Apple Watch 8 is also likely to launch. Maybe in 2022 we will see the Apple Watch redesign that was rumoured for 2021, but never appeared. Read: Why Apple Watch 7 didn't match the leaks: Prosser's conspiracy theory.

October 2022 Mac event

  • Tuesday 12 October 2022 - predicted

In 2020 October saw Apple unveil the iPhone 12. It was an unusual year though and normally the iPhone would have made its premiere in September. October is usually the month when Apple announces new Macs and new iPads.

Wondering what date to pencil in for 2022? The October events of the past have (or haven't) taken place on the following dates, so we anticipate an event on Tuesday 12 or Wednesday 13 October.

2021: Monday 18 October
2020: Tuesday 13 October
2019: no event
2018: Tuesday 30 October
2017: no event
2016: Thursday 27 October
2015: no event
2014: Thursday 16 October
2013: Tuesday 22 October
2012: Tuesday 23 October
2011: Tuesday 4 October

What will Apple launch in October 2022?

  • November 2022 will mark exactly two years since the arrival of the first M1 Mac, and as Apple said that it would complete its transition of Macs from Intel to its own silicon within two years. We hope that Apple will have launched M-series chips in all its Macs, but if it hasn't by this point you can be sure to see them at this autumn event.
  • We could also see the iPad Pro gain an M2 chip at this event. Read about the 2022 iPad Pro.