LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 for iOS full review

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 is based on the final three books and last four films within the Harry Potter franchise: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. The port on iOS takes the story you'd expect and presents it in a convenient form for control via the touch screen.

The game starts with Harry close to his home in Little Whinging. The atmosphere is dark and dingy right from the start as Harry is hunted down by Death Eaters, Dementors, Wizard Snatchers and Lord Voldemort himself.

The fact everything is set in the world of LEGO makes it a little more light hearted as you work your way through Hogwarts, The Ministry of Magic and more. As you work your way through each level, learning spells with which you can battle enemies, mix potions and affect the surroundings, you’ll come across LEGO coins. The more of these you pick up, the more characters you’ll open up for use within this world.

The more characters you open, the wider range of skills and abilities you’ll have available when it comes to meeting up, and defeating, Voldemort himself.

The world of LEGO Harry Potter is deeply immersive. You have the freedom to investigate the world, and when you come across something you can influence you’ll usually be advised as such with an on-screen clue as to what you need do. Early in the game Harry is attacked with Dudley by a pair of dementors. You’ll be told on screen what to do, then need go rescue Dudley.

If Harry loses his life force completely, the LEGO bricks that make Harry up fall apart – it’s a little humour that fits in well within this slightly darker than usual LEGO world.

Find the best price

Best prices today

Retailer Price Delivery  

Price comparison from over 24,000 stores worldwide